top of page

How I Started Talking About Food?

This post will be unlike the rest of the posts you'll see here - today I'll share my inspiration for starting the "Food" portion of this blog and what you can expect to see in the future.


I have always had an appreciation for food...both in quality and quantity. I grew up in Quebec, and Newfoundland and Labrador, and we were fortunate to have a lot of home cooked meals.


A couple of years ago I decided to 'give back' to the foodie community by writing reviews on Trip Advisor. I was usually positive with my reviews (most places I've went served good food...I research places before I go, so I usually know what to expect). However, I also believe in being honest, and this was no exception for my reviews. The picture below speaks for itself as a not-so-positive review that I wrote. I must note that I gave this particular Tim Hortons 3 chances and each time the hot chocolate tasted like bog water. This review was a point of laughter among my friends and family.




Well, the review speaks for itself. But, in all honesty, I contributed more than 150 reviews over the past couple of years. And, while I have enjoyed doing this, I wanted to create my own more high-impact space.


From a young age I always had an affinity towards food, initially I loved food a lot (still do), which then grew to curiosity that mainly involved watching my parents cook and asking a lot of questions (still do). Then I began cooking for myself from a young age (6 eggs for breakfast, anyone?). Even though I am not an exceptional cook, I do get a lot of joy in preparing a meal and taking that first bite.


Right now I'm going to focus on providing you with thorough, honest reviews from each restaurant, cafe, or pub I visit. In the future, you can expect me to share some of my favourite recipes and cooking tips when I gain a following!


Bình luận


bottom of page