top of page

Speaking Out Against Racism

Racism is defined by prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism against a person or people based on their membership of a racial or ethnic group, typically one that is a minority or marginalized.


As an Asian-Canadian I experienced and unfortunately continue to experience racism. When I was a boy I was often defined by my race rather than who I was. Other kids would often refer to me as "Asian -------", and I would usually brush this off as a joke but as I grew older I realized how much of a problem this is. Growing up playing sports I faced many challenging events from being ridiculed for trying-out for a team, to hateful racial slurs in the middle of a hockey game. Today, I am often asked "where are you really from?" because people cannot accept that someone who looks like me self-identifies as a Newfoundlander.


What I am trying to say is that racism was a problem when I was a boy and it continues to be a problem as an adult. In order to tackle this problem, my goal is to share my experiences with racism, with hopes to educate and show people the effects of their actions, which I hope will lead to change.








Comments


bottom of page